Crafty Cardmakers Challenge 193 – lots of layers

Chanya 13 is hosting our challenge today, and the theme is Lots of Layers
As usual anything you care to enter is fine, a card, scrap layout, mixed media piece, some home decor, as long as it has lots of layers to match the theme.

Please remember our 15 total challenge rule! 

I don’t normally make cards with lots and lots of layers – my style tends to veer towards the clean and simple with minimal layers on the whole.  But layers don’t have to be frothy or lacy – so I decided to utilise one of my birthday gifts of a hunkydory stacker pad and just do lots of mats and layers.

I used 2 pages from the stacker – one background paper and one sheet of die cut decoupage/topper images.  My base card was my favourite 6 x 6 white card and originally I was going to put the backing paper directly onto it.  Then I thought, no! layers!!!!  and added some gold mirri behind it.  I didn’t have a full sheet of gold, so used the small A6 mirri sheets I use with the little book pages, and covered the join by sticking a further layered ribbon strip on the top to cover it. The layers on the strip was gold mirri, strip of background paper (reverse side) strip of gold mirri and finally a strip off of the embellishments sheet.

I used the edge of the embellishments sheet that had a gold trim as a further ribbon strip to go across the page horizontally (for the bees to stand on at the top!) and then stuck one of the flowers where the strips intersected,  with a small embellishment in the centre.  Finally I used some of the bee diecuts on foam pads to decorate the rest of the card.  I stuck one embellishment slightly too high up at the bottom, which irritated me because it looks wrong to my eye.  You probably wouldn’t have noticed if I hadn’t pointed it out though,.. which is what I console myself with!

The last touch was a bit of quickie glue and clear glitter around the centre of the sunflower, and 4 AB gems in each corner.

I liked the final effect very much – I think these stackers are really good value and ideal for those times when you don’t have time to pull a design together from scratch.    This one was a gift, but I may just treat myself to some of the others!

 

2 thoughts on “Crafty Cardmakers Challenge 193 – lots of layers

  1. I think you did a wonderful job on layering and as to the embellishment I would not have noticed anything amiss had you not pointed it out. . Love those bee die cuts. A terrific card.
    hugs
    Glenda

    Like

Leave a Reply

